Happy Mother’s Day

Today is Mother’s Day – the day we honor mothers and motherhood. Mothers toil, sacrifice, and give more than anyone can ever imagine. Mothers can never be thanked enough, but on Mother’s Day we try and appreciate their contributions in our lives.

Wishing all you wonderful mothers out there – Happy Mother’s Day!

 

mother 4

Here’s a poem by well-known author Jeanette Cooper, which beautifully pays tribute to a mother.

 

                            Ode To Mother

 

Dear Mama, in your eyes I saw beauty
When you held me in your warm embrace.
There I saw the greatest peace
Written on your lovely face.

I saw love and felt joy;
I saw kindness and felt peace;
I saw warmth and felt comfort;
I saw friendship and felt my life richly nourished;
I saw gentleness and felt strength;
I saw patience and felt understanding;

Mama, your look was like an open-faced book;
I saw long-suffering on your gentle face and knew
Behind those wonderful clear green eyes
Was a saintly mortal who was my mother,
A woman who learned from pain and joy
How to love.

If you could hug me in your protective arms
The way you once held me back then,
If I could see that loving gentle face
That told me I would forever have a friend,

What sublime joy and  wonder it would be
To know God’s blessings through you of yesterday;
What a miracle from God our Savior above
To hear your sweet lips say,
“I love you.”

 

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

