Quotes on Grammar

Some interesting quotes on grammar:

*  I never made a mistake in grammar but one in my life and as soon as I done it I seen it.  ~ Carl Sandburg

*   Only in grammar can you be more than perfect.  ~ William Safire

*  English usage is sometimes more than mere taste, judgement, and education — Sometimes it’s sheer luck, like getting across the street.  ~ E. B. White

*  American grammar doesn’t have the sturdiness of British grammar, but it has its own scruffy charm.  ~ Stephen King

*  When I split an infinitive, god damn it, I split it so it stays split.  ~ Raymond Chandler

*  Do not be surprised when those who ignore the rules of grammar also ignore the law.  After all, the law is just so much grammar.  ~ Robert Brault

*  Grammar is a piano I play by ear. All I know about grammar is its power.  ~ Joan Didion

*  It is well to remember that grammar is common speech formulated.  ~ William Somerset Maugham

*  I will not go down to posterity talking bad grammar.  ~ Benjamin Disraeli

* Grammar: n. A system of pitfalls thoughtfully prepared for the feet for the self-made man, along the path by which he advances to distinction.  ~ Ambrose Bierce

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing these. I love the quote by Raymond Chandler.

    Like

Leave a Reply

